stilldis.blogg.se

Star wars revisited
Star wars revisited







star wars revisited star wars revisited

George Lucas is a visionary when it comes to imagining the big picture universe of his franchise.

star wars revisited

Much of the acting is wooden, the dialog is stilted, and several characters have been criticized – both now and when the picture was released – for being thinly veiled racial stereotypes.

STAR WARS REVISITED MOVIE

The Phantom Menace is ostensibly a kid’s movie that’s plot revolves around trade disputes, commercial blockades, and taxation. In fact, I’m far from the only person offering a 20th anniversary retrospective about the launch of the second trilogy in the Skywalker Saga. There aren’t many observations I can make about The Phantom Menace that haven’t already been made. After a stint in film school, twenty years of studying movies, and a hard-fought effort to refine my critical thinking skills – not just about movies, but everything – it’s no surprise that I don’t look at The Phantom Menace in the same way that I did a long time ago in a small town far, far away. There was no way to convince me that the movie wasn’t anything other than what was promised: the greatest, most exciting movie event in a generation. As a die-hard Star Wars fan, the fact of The Phantom Menace’s existence was proof of its greatness. It called the origin story of Anakin Skywalker The Phantom Movie. I remember seeing the headline of a review for Episode I in the days after the film’s opening that dared to disparage the first new Star Wars movie released in 16 years. The triumphant return (according to all the promotional materials) of George Lucas to the franchise that changed movies forever was cause for feverish celebration. Twenty years ago this week, I was caught up in the spectacle of the biggest pop culture event I had ever seen in my short two decades on earth.









Star wars revisited